FMP – Sourcing Materials

Before I traveled to Shepherds Bush to source my synthetic breathable fabric that would carry my laser engraving, I drew up a list of other factors that would allow me to fully realise a successful garment in terms of my context.

This list involved these requirements:

Shiny – Insulating – Strong – Stretchy – Light – Easy to engrave – Good shape retention – Comfortability – Waterproof – Resistant to Creasing – Loose/ easy to stitch.

The samples I collected to inform my decision in the final choice of textile included PVC, Nylon, Polyester and finally Lycra. With the exception of Lycra, my other choices possessed almost all the important properties that i needed to include in the jacket and would have also been utilised in an effective way to create another jacket. However, the durability and breathability that came together with the Lycra seemed the most appealing when on a soft fabric and allowed for a lightweight outer layer. If I was intending to design a collection of garments instead of just one piece, I would most likely use the same textiles from my samples. For example, The Nylon I sampled would suit a garment with a more rigid fit and the PVC would allow for a sturdy accessory.

Next, I had to reintroduce, test and create my lining for the jacket that I had decided to involve the fused bin liner for. This was mainly down to the fact that with the lining of the coat, I felt I had more freedom to create an ambiguous and deeply detailed textile to support my context. The look that this bin liner effect created alongside heat-pressed phosphene illustrations that were dotted around each piece of my lining, was one of layering and randomness that once again meant it was impossible to fully complete a visual understanding of the design. Contextually as well, this lining is found hidden by an outer layer of simplified and comparatively understated fabric that alludes to the idea that the side we put out to the world as an entry point is very little of our whole self. With the way that the subtle laser engraving on the surface of my Lycra catches the light and appears to have a different texture to the rest of the textile, it will encourage those who see it to want to understand the texture of the jacket and eventually be exposed to a complexity and detail that they will not be ale to cover. In turn I hope this could inspire this action to be made towards peoples lives and personalities, encouraging at least a further look into someones life rather than a surface level judgement.

EPSON006.JPG

samp.jpg

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started